All

 

all-pic1a.jpg

 

All

Possessed of all it is I am,

I sigh a sigh of longing.

I wish for what it is I’m not,

across the bridge of dreams.

 

I lust not for kingly right,

nor scepter gold to rule a realm.

I seek to fill my barren soul,

across the bridge of dreams.

 

Worldly wealth I do not need,

nor power over minions,

enlightenment is all I seek,

across the bridge of dreams.

 

all-pic2a.jpg

rob kistner © 2007

_____________________________

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on October 19, 2007.

28 Responses to “All”

  1. Possessed of all it is I am,
    I sigh a sigh of longing.
    I wish for what it is I’m not,
    across the bridge of dreams.

    What an excellent opening. I guess we all come to that bridge on our journey along the path. Happy travels.

  2. Dennis –

    Thank you… 😉

    Yes we do, and the wise saying, “be careful what you wish for” should resonate for everyone upon crossing.

  3. Love the repetition on this piece and the poignant yearning for something, something, anything more. Nicely done and the photo’s perfect!

  4. Tumblewords –

    Thank you very much… 😉

  5. very simply and meaningfully put rob… i liked this.. very thought provoking…

  6. Beautiful. What passes for currency in our society, is practically worthless to our souls.

    All I seek is what can not be bought and sold on the open market: love, laughter, freedom, creativity, empathy, faith, wisdom, truth.

  7. Paisley –

    I’m pleased it stirred some thought… 😉

    Thank you!

  8. Herb –

    Thank you for your kind acknowledgment… 😉

    …and especially, thank you for your poignant further insight!

  9. That’s beautiful – yes longing – I know it well. What a stunning fall photo to match your words!

  10. And where is the bridge? I believe we may be on it.

  11. Rob: You did it! You wrapped Rob, Jesus, Buddha, the Tao, Rumi, all mystic traditions, Simon and Garfunkel, and universal wisdom into the enlightened grape leaf of this fine poem. That’s good company you keep, my man.

    rp

  12. oh, we were supposed to be serious, thoughtful, and intelligent. Aren’t I red right now?

  13. I had to have a crown of dreams. A bridge was too expensive.

  14. Tara –

    Thank you very much… I’m glad you liked! 😉

  15. Wendy –

    The bridge of dreams is transcendental meditation.

  16. Raymond –

    Yes, it is of these, and apart from these. It is the prime essence of their common path. It is the resonant thread that connects the temporal and the infinite. It is the arc between the sleeping and the waking, the knowing and the being — it is ‘the’ bridge.

  17. MBW –

    We were supposed to be exactly who we are… 😉

  18. Rob,
    Superb!
    rel

  19. That was simply wonderful. I adore the thought of the bridge of dreams.

  20. MBW –

    I love the burger ‘king’… LOL… 🙂

  21. rel –

    Much gratitude!

  22. Patois –

    Thank you… 😉

    I’m pleased it catches your fancy! I liked both the sound and the imagery as well, when I struck upon the phrase… and it conveys a bit of mystery.

  23. Your bridges definitely made me dream. Of my next vacation.
    Cheers.

  24. Sarala –

    Hope it’s a grand escape… 😉

  25. Lovely poem. Spectacularly beautiful pictures.

  26. Sundaycynce –

    Thank you for your kind words!

  27. How I wish…

  28. Gautami –

    …just find your “bridge of dreams”… 😉

Leave a Reply

 
