“Moments” — of reflection & impact (2 works)

This first piece under “Moments” is a reflection on an individual’s personal epiphanal moment, induced by the overwhelming beauty of nature. This piece also features a ‘moment of impact’ for one of nature’s beautiful creatures.

 

untetheredatlandsend.jpg

 

Untethered

I stand
at land’s end
atop a precipice
that soars skyward
out over the Pacific

an Osprey

aloft on sea breezes
that billow the cliff

holds me spellbound

the osprey climbs

azure
rolls and undulates
as far as my eyes see

the blue reaches
for the sunset

to fall away
over earth’s edge
into forever

the osprey circles

a white ribbon
unfurls below

fragile
pristine

a breath of sand

between eternal sea
and towering rock
that flank
left and right
in bold panorama

the osprey dives
rocketing seaward

the breeze freshens
tosses my hair

I shudder
braced against vertigo
swept up in the moment

I am untethered
weightless
no longer earthbound

the osprey
pierces a swell
and is gone

rob kistner © 2007

 

radiant-osprey-web.jpg

 

_____________________________________

The photo at the top, entitled “Lands End”, was taken on Pacific Coast.

The photorendering immediately above is a digitally modified image I created, of an Osprey in flight, entitled “Spectral Descent”. It is an abstract representation of the bird at one with the air currents. rob kistner © 2007
_____________________________________

 

This second piece under “Moments”, that follows below here, is a philosophical reflection on the nature of the moments of life, and their potential impact on that life.

 

moments-350-web.jpg
rob kistner © 2007

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on December 8, 2007.

32 Responses to ““Moments” — of reflection & impact (2 works)

  1. Simple words, in too short a piece yet able to express rich meaning in multitude ~ giving enlightenment.

    Yes, if we only learn to pay attention and be grateful for each moment.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  2. Terrific! Simple, powerful, and even the length of each line is suited to the hourglass.

  3. June –

    Thank you very much… 😉

  4. Begins with life and ends with life, and it is how we live the in-betweens that measures – superb! Thank you. 🙂

  5. Excellent verse.

    I tagged you for a meme if you’d like to participate. If not, I completely understand.

  6. I love the idea of impacting life.

  7. Your words have impact..

  8. very beautifully rendered rob,, i am envious of the obvious affinity you have with nature,, it has always just been there,, and i wish i could “see” it the way you do…..

  9. Beautiful picture, but gives us vertigo.

    The hourglass poem I like a lot. It shows the truth of life.

    Rose

    xo

  10. Both so beautiful… I loved the osprey piece, they are one of my favorite birds and I could feel the vertigo as I was swept away with your words…

  11. Both these poems – and the accompanying images – speak so well to the importance of special moments, which we must seize before they slip away.

  12. Both the poems are so beautiful.. the first one paints a great mental image… and the secoond one is the best.. the truth of life…
    Great Read..
    Moment

  13. Powerful, visual and wise pieces! I didn’t recognize the Oregon Coast – reminded me of the Gulf of Mexico. 🙂 Beautiful work – both words and art!

  14. Sometimes I almost get irritated I have to read words as the photos are so beautiful and then I read them and get lost. Thanks, for that!

  15. Caught the first part just, loved the flight of the Osprey, very nice. Thanks. 😀

  16. two beautiful touching poems Rob, I love the ‘lands end’ photo. Amazing! I love the form of your words in the hour glass beginning with and ending with LIFE. How appropriately giving the message that Life passes too quickly. thanks for the beauty you spread each week with your poetry and your prompts. xo

  17. I just loved every bit of this post….especially the pictures…
    Loved the words you’ve written too esp ** am untethered
    weightless
    no longer earthbound**

  18. Jeques –

    Thank you… 😉

  19. UL –

    You are most welcome… and thank you!

  20. Diana –

    Thank you… 😉

  21. Rambler –

    We don’t control it… but we most certainly can have impact!

  22. Gautami –

    Thank you… 😉

  23. Paisley –

    I hope I help you just a bit see it as I do… 😉

  24. Rose –

    The top picture is from my son Justin.

    Glad you liked the ‘Life” piece… 😉

  25. Lea –

    Thank you very much! Osprey’s are gorgeous creatures, majestic birds… stunning in flight! 😉

  26. Tara –

    Hi! 😉

    Live each moment aware — as if it were your last… because one of them will be.

  27. Preethi –

    I’m pleased you enjoyed my work…

  28. Tumblewords –

    Thank you for your gracious words… 😉

    The top photo is from my son Justin and is indexed as from the Oregon Coast. You now have influenced me to ask him… he also has a lot of photos from Mexico in the portfolio I was scanning through.

  29. Mary T –

    You are most kind, that you… 😉

  30. UL –

    Glad you liked…

  31. Lucy –

    The “Land’s End” photo is from my son Justin.

    I’m pleased you were engaged by the form of the second piece, as you recognized, it was a purposeful visual. 😉

  32. Prats –

    Thank you… you are kind.

Leave a Reply

 
