Spanned X•cess

This is a bit of foolishness in the form of a 3-part limerick. I mean no disrespect, but some folks just do not look good in blue… 😉

_________________________________

 

spanned-xcess-2-web.jpg

 

Spanned X•cess

It’s amazing what spandex can bind,

no matter how huge the behind,

they mash it and jam it in,

they force it and cram it in,

it’s enough to make you want to go blind!

 

Then they stuff in their gigantic belly,

stretched like a balloon full of jelly,

they wobble and wiggle,

they all over jiggle,

as they toddle their way to the deli.

 

Like a world-class oversized load,

they block traffic when crossing the road.

If one’s near, stay alert,

someone’s gonna get hurt,

’cause that spandex is bound to explode!

rob kistner © 2007

 

_________________________________

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on December 9, 2007.

24 Responses to “Spanned X•cess”

  1. Yeah right. Very funny. For a change, a humor-poem this time. I’m surprised to read a humor-poem from you. I’ve read only a few of your works so far and I am moved by your enlightening, enriching thoughts in them. But I least expect a light verse from you. I failed to see initially that you’re a prolific writer/poet and I admire you even more now. ‘Tis great to visit your site, be inspired, and satiated reading your great works.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  2. Very amusing! Thanks for helping me launch my limerick (and haiku) prompts.

  3. Jeques –

    You are most complimentary…

    …and yes, I enjoy humor — it is my truest nature, but not the spirit of the majority of my writing.

  4. Mad Kane –

    My pleasure! I wish you success…

  5. My favourite is the second one. Well done, Rob.

  6. Rethabile –

    Thank you… 😉

  7. How refreshing! I have to hop on the bandwagon and say that it’s a heck of a lot of fun finding a good poet who doesn’t always take himself too seriously. The laugh I got from your “bit of foolishness” limerick was better for my soul this evening than any mind-bending heart-punching verse could have been.

  8. Alloutcarnybrawl –

    Thank you… I am very pleased that this piece brought you some lightness.

  9. Oooh, that’s a clever little ditty. I can see how the visual inspired you.

  10. this was wonderful.. what a breathe of fresh air!!! i love being funny… and laughing when some else is!!!!

  11. Such an amazing take on spandex – never thought along those lines..very nice take on the prompt. Thanks Rob

  12. Thanks for visiting my blog & my scribblings.

    Thank you for putting a smile on my face this morning; I’ve always wished I had the poetic touch, but, alas, prose is all I can dig up.

  13. June –

    Thank you… a most inspiring vision indeed… 😉

  14. Paisley –

    Thank you… 😉

    Yes, laughter is actually healthy for the mind and body.

  15. UL –

    Thank you for the kind words… 😉

  16. Lori V –

    Your welcome… I enjoyed my visit.

    And I am pleased I was able to make you smile… 😉

  17. Love that last line. Everyday glimpses of hilarity.

  18. Brilliant. That photo is so very sad. How nice of you to block his eyes. But, let me put it this way, I’m guessing he’s recognizable by his girth. Thanks for such a funny series.

  19. Skyelarke –

    I pleased you enjoyed it… 😉

  20. Patois –

    I wasn’t poking fun at the man… I was questioning his choice of wardrobe.

    You are welcome. Glad you liked it… 😉

  21. Hi, Rob!

    That’s a good one! Can I put this in a forum I am a part of? With a link to your blog of course!
    Vikram

  22. ew. this poor sad little (not so much) man

  23. This is hilarious. I didn’t know you had a new blog, I’ll update my blogroll accordingly!

  24. just stopped by to wish you a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
