Night Journey

 

night-journey500d.jpg

 

Night Journey

in moonlit forest

midnight’s snowfall shimmers
through the boughs
of old growth

deep and still

as if spread by star clusters

it blankets
our high-mountain meadow
in crystal down

this night
fell quiet and crisp

a great white owl
echoes
through frosted cedar

lover and beloved

we entwine
‘neath winter’s window

with dreams
and one another

we sleep

in gentle slumber
we traverse
time
and space

adrift
in random wonder

we breathe
the ebb and flow
of nocturne

but I’ve awakened
in a summer
long ago

you
warm and soft
in my arms

the night
that first we kissed

rob kistner © 2007

_____________________

collage above entitled: “Night Journey” — by: rob kistner © 2008
_____________________

• • •

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on February 15, 2008.

55 Responses to “Night Journey”

  1. Awwwwwwwwww Sighhhhhhhhh That is just so sweet and romantic!

    Just lovely!

    Smiles and Light

  2. beautiful memory Rob! as always your poems are so vivid, so lovley! 🙂

  3. but I’ve awakened
    in a summer
    long ago

    I love this line. Magical, and transportive, and calling out a clear invitation for the mind to wander.

  4. The black background and white letters are like the night sky and helped to transport me from winter to summer! Just beautiful!

  5. Very atmospheric – you take the reader into the words.

  6. Gemma –

    I’m pleased it touched your heart… 😉

  7. Lucy –

    Your words are most kind… 😉

    It is a tender memory, a great way to time travel while you sleep.

  8. Robin –

    Thank you… 😉

    I’m glad these words stirred your wonder!

  9. Linda –

    You are gracious with your words… 😉

    I’m thrilled this piece was able to transport you!

    NOTE – Bryan Veloso designed this template. I love its crisp contemporary look. Brown is such a ‘hot’ designer color right now, and this background is actually a charcoal brown — very hip at the moment… and less harsh than black. If you look at the logo for my Visceral Voice link in the sidebar you will see the difference from black.

  10. Anthony –

    Thank you for the compliment!

    I really enjoy imagery when I write — I believe it’s the visual artist, photographer, and CAD designer in my soul. It’s creative voyeurism… 😉

  11. You write romance! Wow!

  12. The first kiss is always a memory in time.

  13. Tumblewords –

    Yes! I love the imagery and passion of romance… 😉

  14. Cricket –

    Harder to find your way back to it, the more time that slips by… but always a joy when that memory surfaces! 😉

  15. so then ultimately what i am hearing here is you kissed her and slept with her the first night… rob… you dog you!!!!!!

    beautifully rendered….

  16. The night scene was painted clearly with your words. Then you brought us through time in the dream.Excellent work!

  17. That is so beautiful! Just beautiful! Love the image, too.

  18. those last lines were precious…a time we travel to over and over again..

  19. *sigh* so beautiful.

  20. Paisley –

    First, a gentleman never tells… 😉

    Second, the sleeping is happening in the present, the traveling through time in the dream takes him back to the first kiss in the summer of long ago.

    Third, thank you for the kind compliment!

  21. Ratana –

    Thank you for your gracious words… 😉

    I’m pleased this piece engaged you.

  22. Forgetfulone –

    Thank you very much! 😉

  23. UL –

    If love endured, the first kiss remains a most precious memory — even if the love does not endure the passion and innocence of the first kiss remains a tender memory…

  24. Heather Kathleen –

    You are most kind — and what a beautiful name you have!

    I married a bonnie Irish lass many years ago, whose maiden named charms me soul whenever I say it aloud — Kathleen Elaine McCullough… still today I hear the pipes lilting across the fields when those sounds dance off me tongue. Her family came from Ireland, of Scots Gaelic decent. My father-in-law has a fair grasp of the Gaelic language. I love to hear him when he speaks it.

    During the Christmas season our favorite music to fill the house is from Wlndham Hill’s Celtic Christmas collection. We have every volume… beautiful!

  25. What a romantic travel! I had a pang in my heart due to long lost memories after reading this. Thanks Rob, for this prompt.

  26. Gautami –

    Thank you! 😉

    Memories are wonderfully bittersweet form of time travel.

  27. this takes me back…

  28. Jen –

    Glad to oblige… 😉

  29. as always, excellent capture of the prompt in few, powerful words. Enjoyed it.

  30. MBW –

    Thank you very much!

  31. aaw.. this was so beautiful…

    Here is my take – I live On…

  32. Preethi –

    Thank you…

  33. For a loveless like me, I wanted to try romance and fall in love just by reading this. I wanted to give up my vow to stay single for life. This is enticing, Rob.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  34. *sigh* you are such a rare and romantic soul….oh, that kathleen elaine is so very, very lucky……

  35. Very nice! Such a gentle poem, with deep undercurrents…

  36. funny thing happened… as im reading each line… everything suddenly became quiet, suddenly dark… i sighed… gee, ain’t life grand… thanks for poetic purpose.. you don’t happen to have a brother whose single??

  37. Jeques –

    Thank you, and I’m pleased this work touched you… 😉

  38. Rebecca –

    😉 …and on some days she would agree with you…

  39. Constance –

    Thank you… 😉

  40. POP –

    I’m pleased this piece engaged you…

    …but no — no single brother… 😉

  41. What a gorgeous collage and the poem has a very soft, gentle, lazy feel to it. Very nicely done!

  42. Your collages are extraordinarily beautiful, and always enhance your writing/

  43. adrift
    in random wonder

    we breathe
    the ebb and flow
    of nocturne

    such nice use of words Rob, very nice…

  44. Scout –

    Thank you for the very kind words… 😉

  45. Pepek –

    Thank you, you’re most gracious… 😉

  46. Rambler –

    I appreciate your compliment! 😉

  47. The opening scene setting here is very beautiful

  48. Juliet –

    Thank you, I’m pleased it touched you… 😉

  49. That is absolutely beautiful, Rob. Don’t tell my fiance, but I’ll walk with you in the woods ANYtime! 🙂

  50. Warriormare –

    Thank you… 😉

    …and it will remain our little secret!

  51. Ahhhhhhh BLISS! Beautiful yet again Rob 😉

  52. Redness –

    You are always so generous with your kind words… 😉

    Thank you!

  53. great collage and wonderful poem! I use my own images for my writing posts too! This poem that moved with evening breathing/dreaming was great!

  54. So warm and beautiful. The caring romantic voice throughout was comforting,

  55. aaw that was so romantic… 🙂 loved it

    My time capsule

Leave a Reply

 
