Duet

 

duet1a-300.jpg

 

Duet

rounding a bend
brushing through
waist-high fern
I crest a knoll

and stop

mesmerized

awash
in the warm light
of sunset

filtered
by the woodland canopy
high above

below me

a pristine ribbon
of silver-blue waters

marbled golden
with the last rays
of sunlight

that reach
into this
splendid canyon

cut by time
and current
in the great rock
of the earth

transfixed

I marvel at the power
the beauty

at the determination
of the mighty river
that sculpts
this majestic work

it tumbles
in timeless clarity
over boulder and falls

ever onward

its enchanted voice
calls me
to its banks

I stand
immersed in its energy

captivated
by its duet
with the wind

that plays the boughs
of the towering pines

as it soars
down the lofty climbs

brushes my face

tosses my hair

and dances past me
round a bend

in perfect harmony

…I am transformed…

• • •

 

duet-2-300.jpg

_____________________

photographed near my home in the Cascade Mountain foothills

top photo entitled: “Sunlight on Clackamas River”
bottom photo entitled: “Moon Over Clackamas River”
_____________________

• • •

rob kistner © 2008

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on March 23, 2008.

22 Responses to “Duet”

  1. wow! just WOW!!!

  2. Giselle –

    Thanks! really… thanks! 😉

  3. Nothing can compare with beauty of nature!

    garbled garbage

  4. man and nature… a harmony that is so powerful. lovely pics along with ana excellent poem. such a treat to this reader

  5. This poem reads like it has been written forever. It is like you have captured the universal feeling of being called & inspired by nature. It is simply perfect.

  6. Truly fantastic!

  7. amazing photos, the power of rivers is amazing too

  8. Ah, the Pacific Northwest at its most glorious. Rob, you captured it just right, I felt like I was right there with you. And I loved the images, especially the second one. Breathtaking.

  9. Gautami –

    Amen! 😉

  10. totomai –

    Thank you! I did not take both pictures, but I edited both.

  11. Jillypoet –

    You humble me… thank you.

    Nature is timelessly enriching, if we open ourselves to its power and majesty, and appreciate it as the miracle it is! 😉

  12. Pepek –

    Truly gracious… 😉

  13. Juliet –

    They are hypnotic to me…

  14. Chicklegirl –

    Thank you for the kind words… 😉

    I Photoshopped the second one up from an image that was very dark and amorphous — lacking much definition. It took a symphony of manipulations — but I’m ultimately pleased with the results, and pleased as well that you enjoyed it.

  15. Beautiful description and poem!

  16. Linda –

    Thank you…;)

  17. beautiful

  18. Artpredator –

    Thank you… 😉

  19. You are a fortunate man, to live in such beautiful surroundings. The photos make me want to dive right into them. The poem reflects an abiding love for the nature that surrounds you. Beautiful post.

  20. Its duet with the wind.

    The interplay of nature perfectly explained.

  21. Maria –

    Thank you for the kind words… 😉

  22. Anthony –

    Nature makes such beautiful music of the spirit… 😉

Leave a Reply

 
