Kiting

This is a rewrite of a rewrite of poem I first wrote in the Fall of 1997, inspired by the wonderfully consistent Pacific Ocean kiting winds so prevalent on the Oregon Coast.

 

 

Kiting

a whispered zephyr
tosses my hair
brushes soft my cheek

hope gently stirs

a promise of breeze
begins to freshen

it wafts
and builds

gathers strength

heartbeat quickens

anticipation
spirals anew

the building currents
draw taut the line

then
an urgent tug

the moment arrives

my kite fills
then billows

it stands and dances

sculpted tight
against the frame

caught full
by this mounting breeze
it lifts with grace

rises with purpose

with deft hand
and careful eye
I guide it
safely airborne

further
faster
it ascends

carried skyward
on friendly drafts

empowered
by winds of good fortune

this day my kite
has taken flight

bold aloft
in the clear bright sky

with a constant wind
my kite

fragile as a dream

soars strong
and steady

a sudden gust

my kite is tossed

but a nimble touch
keeps it skyward

should winds
like fortune
turn

and the sky grow still

my kite
like fate
will falter

weather
like life

makes no guarantee

but such is the thrill of kiting

• • •

rob kistner © 2008

_____________________

collage above entitled: “Soaring” — by: rob kistner © 2007
_____________________

• • •

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on April 11, 2008.

13 Responses to “Kiting”

  1. Whispered zephyr had me going on!

    😀

    children’s day out

  2. Love it very nice message at tje emd. I love the anticipation of getting the kite off the ground and watching it in the sky.

  3. Love how this is a metaphor for anthing we try in life! You captured the experience perfectly!

  4. yep totally agreed its worth the thrill, I meant life amidst fate 🙂

  5. Ahhh… a symbolic state of mind – thank you so much! 🙂

  6. amazing!

  7. Rob, I still like this very much. I find it heartening that you revise your work too. Your poems are so lovely – this time I felt like I was holding my breath, watching it dance on the wind… your collage is superb – well blended and pleasent to the eye, and yet not boring – full of action!

  8. This captures the thrill of kiting and of fickle fate. It’s a beautiful poem. For Mothers’ Day I was given a fierce-faced dragon kite, a blend of my love for dragons and kites. I remember stopping at Lincoln Beach to watch the kites on a windy day, especially the twirly ones.

  9. You have described kiting with great skill. Love the rhythm of your words. Wonderful to have a piece of art with it!

  10. This makes me want to share kiting with my young grandson’s. It’s been years for me but you inspired me. Lovely Rob!

  11. Thanks for letting us know that you did rewrite the original- why shouldn’t art or poetry be updated or reworked?
    Your writing is highly visual, sensual.

  12. Next time I see a kite I will really observe. Your description has really kindled my kite fascination. Yesterday was ideal kite flying day where I live; w-i-n-d-y!

  13. how fun. 🙂
    i enjoyed the build-up here.
    totally unrelated but.. my dogs name is zephyr. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
