This Jounery

 

This Journey

this journey
has been fraught
with wonder
joy
sadness
awe
and tears

it’s carried me
‘cross boundaries
borders
mass of lands
‘cross time
and space

it’s shown me
mysteries
marvels

good & evil

the best
the least
the unfortunate

it’s brought me pleasures
fame
and fortune

to claim them back
with no remorse

I’ve known satisfaction
adulation
a woman’s love
a child’s passing

it’s been true
and faithful

genuine

to turn away
and
break
my heart

it’s been fact
fiction
and fantasy

I’ve been
ignored

I’ve been
betrayed

honored
as a man
of standing

then
left behind
to cry
alone

I’ve traveled
light
I’ve traveled
fast

I’ve stumbled
burdened
weighed with grief

I’ve lead
and followed
lost my way
regained direction
then disappeared

I’ve walked hand in hand
with fear
and death

stared down
depression

to be consumed

then arose
to once again
go forth
without a clue
my destination

with no regard
the fated outcome
nor consideration
of my plight

long ago
I lost my worry
having learned
it’s of no use

I’ve realized
despite
our difference

at the core
we’re all
the same

this realm
we entered
all alone
and here we’ll leave
alone again

but
all of this
is of no matter

foolish so
to dwell upon

of no concern
of no regard
most certainly
not worth the measure

because
in reflection
one sees too late

it was
this journey
that was the treasure

• • •

rob kistner © 2008

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on May 10, 2008.

6 Responses to “This Jounery”

  1. Oh, that gave me goosebumps. That was a flawlessly written, superlative piece of poetry. Wonderful writing!

  2. Very beautiful. Life’s journey is definitely what is to be savored though we know of its finality.

  3. Great post. But then you never disappoint!

    faithfully fantasizing

  4. I think you captured all of life’s journey! I can relate to so much of it and really enjoyed the walking hand in hand part…so true

  5. Impressive!

  6. Rob,

    Everything and more you said it all this poem. I would keep your words as I journey on.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

Leave a Reply

 
