Curious Elf

 

 

Curious Elf

an angel-eyed velvet-clad curious elf
was sitting alone on a leaf by himself
quite lost and he didn’t see anyone else
he was scared and cried in the woods by himself

I want to be home with my fam’ly of elves
6 sisters 5 brothers – in all I’m the twelfth
this is no a place for an angel-eyed elf
and damp woods are not very good for my health

sometimes it’s hard being a curious elf
curiosity is why I wandered off by myself
and I’m not big enough to get home without help
please somebody come find this small frightened elf

so if you’re no bigger than a wee little elf
don’t go wandering off in the woods by yourself
take somebody else and your cell phone as well
so you don’t get lost like this curious elf

cause it’s scary being lost all alone by yourself

• • •

rob kistner © 2008

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on June 27, 2008.

9 Responses to “Curious Elf”

  1. Just cute! This would make a wonderful insert in a fairytale!

  2. Hi Rob. I was drawn to this because of the title. Duhhh. How nice to discover that it was written by you. AnnieElf
    p.s. Sweet and filled with truisms.

  3. So cute, Rob!

    It is interesting to note the mention of cell phone in the last part ~ it gives a contemporary touch to this rather classy poem perfect for children and the kids at heart.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  4. Curiosity is how we learn – sometimes though, the lessons are not easy.

  5. What a cute graphic to go with your darling poem.

  6. Nice rhyme.I agree with Jeques It is a
    great story for children. My daughter is at just the age that she would like this, -and benefit from it too-shes always running off in stores!
    Thank You for such an enjoyable poem.

  7. Picture and words – sheer delight!

  8. this one is just adorable! I read it to my son and he loved it!

  9. this is soo cute

Leave a Reply

 
