This heart is yours…

 

…inspired by this Kyknoord illustration, offered as a visual prompt at “readwritepoem”.

 

 

This Heart is Yours

this heart is yours

this damaged heart

this brittle
fractured
aching heart

broken
in your cold cruel hands

abused
then cast aside

I’ve no use for this ruined heart

I plucked it from my chest

I seek a warm and vital heart

now begins my quest

• • •

rob kistner © 2008

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on November 4, 2008.

6 Responses to “This heart is yours…”

  1. I think you have inhabited the voice of the embittered and broken very well in this poem, Rob!

  2. bb – Perhaps we’ve all been there once in our life.

    Nice to have you visit… 😉

    …rob

  3. Been there…

    ribbons of her thoughts

  4. Lovely verses &
    Beautiful images!
    Keep them flowing…

    Samuel Goh Kim Eng
    http://MotivationInMotion. blogspot. com
    Sun. 15th Feb. 2009.

  5. nice work. thanks for inviting me here!
    you might want to check out this place:
    http://saltydreamsbook2.yuku.com/directory
    cool place, lots of good people, and lots of good poetry.

    take care. 🙂

  6. the poem lacerates me within, as if i need to rip my heart out.

Leave a comment