Lost in Azure (new day)

 

Lost in Azure
(new day)

across the way
last night’s rain puddles
amidst the chaos of construction
trapped on-site

as if abandoned
by the waters of earth
it erodes its way to the culvert
in search of mother sea

this new day begins
dewy and crisp

bird songs echo empty sunrise streets

lover and beloved
we sit by the morning window
with tea and curiosity

we talk

in this moment
our souls spill
one into the other

until I am distracted

your lips continue sculpting words
but I’ve fallen into your deep eyes

 

azure-eyes.jpg

 

rob kistner © 2007

 

~ by Image&VerseToo on January 4, 2008.

30 Responses to “Lost in Azure (new day)

  1. the eyes are mesmerizing….beautiful crafted poem!

  2. Hey Rob. Are you sure this wasn’t ripped from the lyrics of a Nine Inch Nails song?

  3. so romantic Rob. Why is it that the man Is always distracted to ‘other things’ first??

  4. Jen –

    The eyes are bewitching…

    Thank you for your kind words! 😉

  5. MB Whale –

    LOL — Nope, sorry… only me.

    I wrote this last summer, for presentation at a creative writing symposium, to which I was invited — held at Marylhurst University.

    I’m 60 years old and listen to jazz. I wouldn’t know a nine inch nail if I stepped on one. 😉

  6. Lucy –

    Thank you… 😉

    With a pair of eyes like those, who wouldn’t be distracted!

  7. Wow! I’m a touch envious but I won’t whine…Happy New Year!

  8. Lovely as always Rob! You’re much appreciated. Please keep the loveliness happening for 2008.

  9. Tumblewords –

    Aw shucks… 😉

    Happy New Year to you as well!

  10. Redness –

    Thank you for the very kind words… 😉

    I’m here as long as fate allows!

  11. That was lovely. Beautifully written.

  12. I like the way you bring life to nature in your description of the morning scene. Even better linking to the presence of the loving kind. Great Post!

  13. Forgetful –

    Thank you… 😉

  14. ratanaong –

    Thank you for the kind words… 😉

    I’m pleased you enjoyed this.

  15. Beautiful eyes, Rob!

  16. Mesmorizing! OUtstanding and so profound, it reached me.
    This is my first week doing SS, hope you stop by: http://wannabeawritersomeday.blogspot.com/2008/01/sunday-scribbles-edition-1.html

  17. Gautami –

    Thank you! Hope you liked the poem as well… 😉

  18. Penelope Anne –

    Thank you very much… 😉

    I’m pleased this piece touched you.

    Look forward to seeing you post on Writers Island as well.

  19. lover and beloved
    we sit by the morning window
    with tea and curiosity

    I love the endless possibilities those words entail. The poem and the eyes were both entrancing.

  20. Herb –

    Thank you my friend… I’m glad you enjoyed this! 😉

  21. wow – you made me melt…well done!

  22. What a beautiful ending to this poem.

    “your lips continue sculpting words
    but I’ve fallen into your deep eyes”

    Takes you to a completely different dimension of what the speaker is thinking and feeling.

  23. love this line: “bird songs echo empty sunrise streets”

    the eyes are intriquing – I do appreciate that he was lured to her eyes….

  24. Jennifer –

    Thank you… 😉

    I’m pleased this piece reached you.

  25. Lisrobbe –

    I appreciate your kind words… 😉

    I am glad this piece reached you.

  26. Skyelarke –

    It was fun working to get that line of the poem. It conjured many memories for me of crisp bright mornings, streets wet from last night’s rain, bird song everywhere… 😉

    With eyes like those, who wouldn’t be drawn in!!

  27. Hmmm…sounds like someone is in love 😉
    Wishing you the best in 2008.
    You were part of my Hes Who Blog post on my regular blog
    http://blogjem.com/2008/01/05/hes-who-blog/
    My Scribble is here
    http://blogforth.com/2008/01/06/sunday-scribblings-january-6th-2008/

  28. there is nothing so beautiful as sharing a morning cuppa with the one you love lost in their eyes…you have spoken so sweetly..

  29. Frances –

    For 20 years now… 😉

    And the best to you in ’08. Thank you for including me in ‘Hes Who Blog’.

  30. Pieceofpie –

    You are kind… 😉

Leave a comment